When you are facing these charges, you need a defense lawyer who knows the law, who knows the courts, and who can put together a strong case fast. Every lawyer at our firm has the experience necessary to provide that level of representation. We have defended a number of homicides including death penalty cases. Whether you were in the wrong place at the wrong time or you made some mistake, don't make a second one, invest in the services of the right defense attorney and give yourself a change at the best possible outcome.
We can also assist you with restoring your civil rights to possess firearms, the right to vote and the right to remove the requirement of registering as a sex offender.
Department of Licensing Civil Action Following a DUI or Physical Control arrest, the officer must notify the DOL of a blood alcohol test result of .08 or higher, for drivers under 21, a result of .02 or higher, and for CDL drivers a result of .04 or higher. The DOL will also be notified of anyone who refuses to take a breath or blood test at the time of arrest.
Unless a hearing is requested of the DOL within 30 days of the DUI arrest, the driver's license of the offender will be automatically suspended or revoked sixty days following the arrest (except in blood test cases).
At the hearing, the driver and/or an attorney can present evidence, cross examine the arresting officer, and make legal and technical arguments to dismiss the licensing suspension. Our firm possesses the expertise needed to minimize any civil action brought about by the DOL.
Depending on the specific offense and any prior DUI convictions, Washington State's DUI criminal penalties vary. For a gross misdemeanor DUI conviction, the offender will serve at least one day in jail, with a maximum of one year. Minimum jail time depends on prior offenses, blood alcohol test results, and if the blood alcohol test was refused. In addition to jail time the offender will have to pay fines, obtain an alcohol evaluation and comply with any recommended treatment, serve up to 5 years of probation, and have an ignition interlock device installed in any vehicle driven for one year following a conviction. A criminal DUI conviction will also result in the suspension or revocation of your license, that can be more severe than the DOL civil action.
Washington State's DUI laws require assessment and treatment for chemical dependencies upon conviction. If convicted of DUI, an assessment for chemical dependency by a state certified agency will need to be completed and if recommended by the agency, alcohol/drug counseling. The amount of counseling that is required is determined by the agency that performs the assessment.